Poetry Monday – A Rage Against Age-ism

November 19, 2012 — Leave a comment

Kingston Station, West Kingston, RI, USA

“Old age?”
Just a stage?
Turning the page?
Try to assuage?
No! Call me the Sage,
…my children.

Time to retire?
Wait for the pyre?
I’ll call out that liar.
I still aspire.
My desire has never been higher
…to fully live.

This is prime time,
not borrowed time.
Get off the dime!
I can still rhyme;
yes, the chime
…is still ringing.

This next station
Is not forced vacation,
graduation or capitulation.
It’s preparation for the consummation!
So help prepare the generation
…yet to come.

I wanna see a legacy.
No more fantasy.
I’ll live in reality,
loving with totality,
true piety and simplicity.
…All Glory to God.

Lyle Mook, c. 2012
No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

