Sweeter Than Honey!

September 24, 2010 — Leave a comment

We began “The Year of Matthew” last Sunday at Christ Church. We called the teaching, “Matthew – The Christian Torah.” I believe we need to seriously evaluate our attitude toward Sacred Scripture. Can we echo the Psalmist’s passion, “Oh how I love your teachings; it is my meditation all the day!” (119:97) – or – “(they are “…sweeter also than honey and the drippings of the honeycomb.” (19:10)

Is the Bible really “The Story I find myself in?” Am I letting God’s story shape my life? Or do I demand that His Words fit into MY story, where I decide what to accept and what not to take seriously?

Another danger is to make “knowing Scripture” (in the head) an end in itself. “Beyond the sacred page, I seek THEE Lord!”

Listen to the whole teaching at our website here.

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

