A Prayer Against Envy

January 25, 2010 — 1 Comment

We closed our worship service yesterday with a prayer against the green monster sin of envy.  Some have asked for the words.  And it may be good to pray more than once!

O Lord,  let Your Holy Spirit so rule my life
that I may love You with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength
and my neighbor as myself.
Take from me a spirit of comparing and analyzing.
Help me instead to rejoice with those who rejoice and weep with those who weep.
Move me from resentment to contentment;
from restlessness to peace,
that I might know the joy of communion with You
and with Your people,
to the glory of Your name.    Amen.

One response to A Prayer Against Envy

  1. 

    Thank you, for this beautiful prayer. This was really helpful and I need this badly.

    Again, Thanks!

Leave a Reply

